High School Equivalency testing options have changed, the credential has not

Today, out-of-school youths and adults without their high school diploma have three test options available to take in order to demonstrate high school-level academic proficiency. Each of these tests — the HiSET® exam from ETS, the GED® test from Pearson VUE and the American Council on Education (ACE®), and the TASC test from Data Recognition Core — all lead to the same state-issued HSE credential.

Only a state can issue a HSE credential after the adult learner has successfully passed one of the three HSE tests. The availability of tests offered depends on which test or tests the state agency selects to use. Some states select one test, while others use multiple options.

Why choose the HiSET exam?

We care. The HiSET program was developed in partnership with states and adult educators across the nation, and we continue to work collaboratively with these stakeholders to grow and improve. Currently adopted in 28 states and territories, the HiSET program provides adult learners with the most affordable and accessible HSE test option, while also providing adult educators with the support and resources needed to succeed.

Quality you can count on

ETS has continually demonstrated its expertise in effectively reaching institutions, influencers, employers and test takers worldwide. For more than 70 years, our nonprofit organization has been recognized as a global leader in test assessment development. ETS has developed some of the most widely accepted large-scale assessments used by organizations and institutions around the globe, including the GRE® and TOEFL® tests. Our rigorous research and exacting standards ensure that our assessments are fair, valid and reliable.

Visit our website for more information.

Stay Informed

Interested in more information about the HiSET program or resources available?
Sign up for our monthly newsletter.