Who Has Adopted the HiSET® Exam?

The number of participating states and territories who have adopted the HiSET® exam as their high school equivalency exam is growing rapidly. A full list is below, and new states are working to adopt the HiSET exam each month.

Has your state started testing already? See eligibility requirements.


  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Wyoming

U.S. Territories

  • American Samoa
  • Guam
  • Marshall Islands
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau

Join the list of states who have adopted the HiSET exam. Contact us today.

Promotional Links

Stay Informed


Sign up to receive the HiSET newsletter and stay up to date on recent news and program updates.

Sign up now